Your Government


The City of Dallas is governed by a representative government organized pursuant to a Home Rule charter adopted by voters. The Charter establishes the Council-Manager form of government to carry out local governance for the community.


The nine-member City Council is elected to serve a four-year term as the governing body for Dallas.

The Mayor presides at City Council meetings and is elected for a two-year term. City Council members and the Mayor perform this community service without compensation. The Mayor and City Council provide community leadership, develop policies to guide the City in delivering services and achieving community goals and encourage citizen awareness and involvement.


The City Council appoints the City Manager to oversee the administrative operations of the City. The City Manager is responsible for implementing Council policies using the resources appropriated by the City Council.

The City of Dallas Government includes: